Love in a Time of Internet and Best Ever Cruciferous Quinoa Salad

2 Mar

Cruciferous and quinoa salad ingredientsI assisted on a photo shoot today with the amazing Kirsten Cox.

We were shooting the new web and print campaign for a little internet dating company called eHarmony.

I’m sure you’ve heard of them.

The couples were real life poster couples for how successful internet dating can be. They all met on eHarmony and they’re now living in significant relationships or hitched.

I must admit I’ve walked away feeling all mushy on the insides.

Watching these couples gazing adoringly at each other, they weren’t acting for the camera. That shit was so real that people standing five feet away could feel the waves coming off them.

When they smiled at each other, I smiled at them.

In fact, I probably looked a bit creepy standing there, holding the reflector and grinning like an idiot…. but it just felt so nice to witness such affection, such adoration.

Such love.

eharmony photo shoot with Kirsten CoxOnce more I’m left in awe of the power of finding someone who makes you feel like that.

It’s so mindblowingly profound that of all the people we come into contact with all of the time, sometimes, if you’re really lucky, there’s that one person in a million who makes you feel that way.

I had a crack at internet dating once.

The process itself is a little intoxicating and quite exhilarating and I was a little bit shit at it due to a lack of patience.

I ended up juggling a few too many boys at once because I can’t choose a TV channel when I’m watching Foxtel.

I realise that sentence may make NO SENSE AT ALL, but I think it’s a pretty fair analogy of where people like myself may come unstuck whilst internet dating.

When I’m watching pay TV I struggle to find one channel and settle in to watch one perfectly good program. I suffer from FOMO, or fear of missing out.

I surf those 57 channel of mind-numbing crap like Kelly Slater at the Quicky Pro whose life depends on it.

I catch snippets of a multitude of things and end up turning it off due to utter confuzzlement and brain overload.

Do you know what I mean now?

I juggled a few too many boys at once and ended up looking a bit of a twat because my phone would ring and I’d have no idea which of the paramours I was speaking to.

Poor juggling skills aside, I have no complaints about the experience, in fact, I met a lovely man and had a whirlwind 6 months with him. It didn’t work ultimately but it sure as shit wasn’t internet dating’s fault.

Nor ours really, we just weren’t meant to be.

This is an interesting Ted talk about love if you have a spare 20 mins…. if not, just make some salad.

This cruciferous (the vegetable family that broccoli and cauliflower belong to. I just think it’s a beautiful word) salad is not a love potion, nor an aphrodisiac, it’s just my favourite salad at the moment.

Thought I’d share the salad love.

cruciferous and quinoa salad

Yield – Serves 6 as a side or 4 as a main

What you will need : 

  • 2/3 cup quinoa
  • 1/2 head broccoli
  • 1/2 head cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 12-15 big green olives, seeded and chopped roughly
  • 1/2 bunch fresh mint, leaves picked and roughly chopped
  • 1 small spanish onion, quartered
  • 150g fetta
  • 1/2 a pomegranate (not pictured)
  • salt & pepper
  • 1/2 lemon, squeezed over salad for juice.

What you will need to do :

Preheat your oven to 180C.

Pop your quinoa into boiling water at a 1:3 ratio and pop a lid on it and leave to cook. It is ready when the little tail pops out (15-20 minutes).

Lightly douse your onion and cauliflower in olive oil and season well. Pop into the oven. You want your cauli to be a little brown and caramelised around the edges so leave for a good 25 minutes depending on your oven.

Throw your broccoli into a food processor and wazz it good until it’s all broken down. Chuck it into a large bowl.

Next, toss your chopped mint, fetta and olives into your big bowl. When your remaining ingredients are cooked and good to go, chuck them all in. Add your pomegranate seeds. Toss with a little olive oil, salt and pepper, and a good squeeze of lemon juice.

I tossed a tin of tuna through it for the littl’uns, and roasted up a rack of lamb for us big’uns.

Isn’t it pretty??? Tastes damn fine too.

cruciferous quinoa salad

Cook Once, Feed All COVER_lr

Cook Once, Feed All is about making your life easier whilst preparing nutritious and quick food for your family. Hailed by Mouths of Mums as the ‘must have recipe book for all families’, this book is a collection of family friendly recipes, all accompanied by stories from my life.

To order your hardcopy of Cook Once, Feed All  head to the Holsby Shop right now.

If you like what you’re reading why not like my Facebook page now or subscribe via email, to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

2 Responses to “Love in a Time of Internet and Best Ever Cruciferous Quinoa Salad”

  1. ksbeth March 2, 2014 at 10:54 am #

    yeh, i have the same problem with internet dating, i’m not very good at it, but haven’t given up yet. and i like your option of just making a salad instead )

Leave a Reply

