A message for you.

7 Mar

A determined flowerMy darling readers,

I just had a lightening moment whilst on the loo (number 1 only) and I wanted to share it with you because sharing is –  well, often just plain old over sharing in my case but in this instance – caring.

Some of you are related to me by blood. You don’t have to read, but you do. You still count in this.

Some of you are friends; some old, some new. Whether I’ve loved you for a long time or a short time, I love that you’re on this journey with me. Thanks for playing.

My Dad said recently that he has found out so much more about me since I started writing this blog, and I’m sure many of the people who know me feel that way.

It’s not that I don’t talk like this in real life, its just about time and opportunity. There’s not enough time to have all of the chats and drink all of the wine and eat all of the meals with everyone I would like to.

Some of you are also bloggers, writers I admire and aspire to learn from whether it be creatively, or technically, or how I see your life through the little snapshot you give us through your window on the inter webs.

Many of you, my readers, are people I’ve never actually met, and sadly, I may never have the opportunity to.

I just realised that although many of you have never, and may never, meet me personally, you care about me and my life… and my family.

You are interested in what I think, and you care about how I feel.

You take time from your busy lives to comment on my posts, you offer me advice. Some of it great advice.

You make my food, and you take pictures and send them, and tell me how your family loved it.

You share your lives and experiences with me, intimate details, and pain and secrets.

You are funny. You, my readers, make me laugh because you are very, very funny.

You live in all corners of the world, I’m endlessly amazed at how far this travels, and yet you are my community.

This morning this thought has brought the prickle of tears to my eyes because it hit me how lucky I am. Lucky not just in the big way that I live somewhere that allows me to have a voice, not lucky in the way that I am fortunate to have time and space in my life to create this, but lucky on a much more base level.

I’m lucky to have such love poured on to me by such a big community of people.

I want to give you all a cyber hug and say thanks.

Without each of you, I would just be spouting off to myself, as usual.

Without your encouragement, and engagement, be it on the blog or Facebook, I wouldn’t have the courage to keep showing you my metaphorical arse, and sharing my deepest thoughts and fears, and loves.

Laying myself bare. Letting you in. Letting me out.

By me doing this, you are doing it to. You let me in to your lives, and I get you in mine.

Anyway, it’s Friday, let’s go wrap this week up and kick some little goals and keep on moving forward…. the only direction to go.

All my love,

Danielle

Hooking up with other amazing bloggers for FYBF over at With Some Grace.

If you like what you’re seeing, why not like my Facebook page now.

You can also subscribe via email, or follow me on Instagram at The Holsbys to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

16 Responses to “A message for you.”

  1. yinyangmother March 7, 2014 at 8:58 am #

    Very nice Danielle – and thanks for visiting my blog when you do. This blogging community, the whole internet inter-connectedness, is really pretty amazing.

  2. zanniarnot March 7, 2014 at 9:13 am #

    Aw…. Love you too! xx

  3. Trish MLDB March 7, 2014 at 9:52 am #

    Beautiful post and it resonates with me too. Thank you.

  4. Kate March 7, 2014 at 10:10 am #

    Big Hugs to you on this gorgeous morning.

  5. Emily @ Have A Laugh On Me March 7, 2014 at 11:53 am #

    Oh stop it you big marshmallow!

  6. Glen March 7, 2014 at 12:23 pm #

    Well damnation, you made my eyes leak. What is so appealing about you Danielle, is your honesty and courage. You say what you think, not what you think, is expected of you. I wish you were in politics, because you have the courage of your convictions, you are no sheep in a double standards conga line, you listen (a dying art) and you genuinely care.
    Like many gifted people, you have absolutely no inkling of just how Incredible you are, and how refreshing your quick witted humour and positive thoughts wash over your readers, like a warm wave. It’s cathartic. You don’t judge, you listen, you’re curious, intelligent, articulate, hilariously funny. You make a difference. You know who you are, run with it Danielle, go girlfriend and heartfelt thanks on behalf of all of us.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 7, 2014 at 12:30 pm #

      I think I’ve got something in my eye.
      You just got me good. Thanks so much x

      • Glen March 7, 2014 at 1:33 pm #

        Pleasure. Good people should be acknowledged 😉

  7. San March 7, 2014 at 2:26 pm #

    Give in, give up OR give it all you got. You, gorgeous gal, are of the third variety. Beautiful blog…. sniff, drip ,drip…. now pour yourself a LARGE red at wine o’clock cos’ you SO deserve it.

  8. Cybele @BlahBlah March 8, 2014 at 8:13 am #

    May I join in the chorus and say, ‘And IIIIII will always love youuuu, and the blogosphere’ it’s just the bestest to have so many friends hiding away in my computer x

  9. bakeplaysmile March 8, 2014 at 9:00 am #

    Aww how lovely! Love reading your blog… you always make me smile! xxx

  10. ksbeth March 13, 2014 at 6:07 am #

    the feeling is mutual, danielle.

Leave a Reply

