Supermarket mayhem and spelt hot cross buns

22 Mar

spelt hot cross bun ingredientsPeople with no children really don’t understand the pain that is grocery shopping with children.

They cruise blissfully up and down the aisles, maybe gently comparing products, reading labels and chatting on their phone. Parking their damned trolley in the middle of everything as they dawdle.

Every time I enter the supermarket with my two kids I feel like I’m on an episode of It’s a Knockout, or maybe one of those wacky Japanese game shows where a massive flesh eating lizard will bite your arse if you’re too slow.

I wish I was more organised and a meal planning type person but I’m not. I never know what I want to eat three days in advance so I end up spending a lot of time at the supermarket. I’m there at least three times a week on average.

The staff at my local know us by name, and I often ponder the fact that I’m there more regularly than them.

They’ve helped me find my lost children, watched me lose my shit, seen me forget my wallet after scanning a trolley load, and watched D Man ride the Guide Dog Association dog wearing Raybans and a smile.

I’m finding the usual mayhem has doubled or tripled now that there are shiny wrapped Easter eggs lurking down every aisle just waiting for chubby hands to knock over the display.

Which is imminent, no doubt.

spelt hot cross bun dough provingAnd will be as embarrassing as the penis in the meat department, I’m sure.

As patient and lovely as my local supermarket may be, I do have one complaint about them.

They don’t make great hot cross buns….. in fact, they don’t actually bake any on site, and by the time I get to the measly table stocking them there are only fruitless or chocolate chips ones left.

spelt hot cross bun makeshift piping bagFruitless hot cross buns are not the real deal, and neither, my friends, are chocolate chip.

However, if you’re looking for real deal hot cross buns, these are the shizzle.

They’re a little heavier than the traditional, you could use plain flour if you wanted, but we just fell in love with them and I’ll make these babies all year long.

Easter Schmeaster.

spelt cranberry hot cross bunsWhat you will need : 

    • 2 1/2  cups wholemeal spelt flour
    • 2 1/2 cups plain spelt flour
    • 1/4 cup caster sugar
    • 2 teaspoons yeast
    • 1 teaspoon sea salt
    • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
    • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
    • 1 teaspoon allspice
    • a few grinds of black pepper
    • 1 1/2  cups sultanas
    • 2/3 cup dried cranberries
    • finely grated zest of one orange
    • 1 egg

300ml milk

  • 100g butter

For the glaze :

  • 1/4 cup caster sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon allspice
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

What you will need to do :

Set aside 3 tablespoons of plain spelt flour to make your crosses with and combine the rest in a large bowl with your wholemeal flour. Give it a quick whisk to get any lumps out.

Combine with fruit, sugar, yeast, spices, salt and orange zest. Stir through.

Pop your chopped up butter and milk on the stove and warm gently until the butter has melted. You only want your milk to be just above luke warm, not hot.

Make a well in your flour mix, crack in your egg and add your milk and give it a good stir to mix together.

Turn it out onto a well floured surface and knead, baby, knead, until it’s nice and smooth. Probably looking at no less than 7-10 minutes.

Lightly oil and clean bowl and put your dough in and cover with a clean tea towel and place somewhere warm for 40 minutes or until about double in size.

Knock it back and knead again, then cut into 12 equal pieces and shape into balls. Place them into an oiled square baking tray and cover again, leaving for a further 40 minutes. Once more they should about double in size.

Preheat oven to 220C.

Mix remaining flour with 1/4 water and make a smooth paste. Using a piping bag with tiny nozzle or a sandwich bag with the corner cut out pipe on your crosses. Mine were a bit manly but rustic is good.

Pop into oven for 10 minutes, then reduce heat to 200C and bake for a further 10-15 minutes until golden brown. They should sound hollow when tapped.

To make your glaze combine the sugar, spices and 1/4 cup of water and stick onto a medium heat in a saucepan until the sugar dissolves. Bring to the boil, reduce heat and leave to simmer for 1-2 minutes, not stirring. Brush glaze over buns straight from oven.

spelt cranberry hot cross bunsThese are best eaten the day they’re made with lashing of butter. The following day they’re great toasted, and the day after that……

Italian Bread and Butter Pudding. The recipe for the pudding is in my book, not on the blog.

If you have the book, check it out, if you don’t…. what are you doing???

Cook Once, Feed All COVER_lr

Cook Once, Feed All is about making your life easier whilst preparing nutritious and quick food for your family. Hailed by Mouths of Mums as the ‘must have recipe book for all families’, this book is a collection of family friendly recipes, all accompanied by stories from my life.

To order your hardcopy of Cook Once, Feed All head to the Holsby Shop right now and receive both the hard copy, and the ebook, plus my new mini ebook A Bit On The Side.

If you like what you’re reading why not like my Facebook page now or subscribe via email, to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

9 Responses to “Supermarket mayhem and spelt hot cross buns”

  1. San March 22, 2014 at 3:56 pm #

    After my last comment regarding recipes and puppies you’re going to think I have a problem, however, your buns look and sound INCREDIBLE :o)

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 22, 2014 at 3:58 pm #

      I’m beginning to think that you’re flirting with me. I believe I like it 😉

      • San March 22, 2014 at 6:14 pm #

        Well I would LOVE to be generous with the butter on your buns or your puppies. MMMMMMM MMMMMMM ;oD

  2. monicabugno March 22, 2014 at 7:03 pm #

    I highly recommend online grocery shopping and delivery. Cole and woolies offer it and it can cost you from $9-$15 in delivery fees. Totally worth it if you add up the time it take you to drive to the supermarket, run around, pay and drive home. All it takes is a bit of time, for me about 1/2 hour, on the laptop in front of the tv for delivery next day.

  3. ksbeth March 22, 2014 at 8:23 pm #

    you’ve described the grocery shopping with children experience perfectly here. happy your local knows and understands you and the family, that really helps. your hcb recipe sounds fantastic and i like your ideas for what to do with them as delicious leftovers. )

  4. BOYEATSWORLD March 24, 2014 at 11:41 am #

    I hear you. Grocery shopping with my two is like herding cats. Loud, whining feral cats. We don’t have any great local hot cross buns round ours so shall be giving your recipe a workout on the weekend. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. Fashionista April 2, 2014 at 10:17 am #

    Hello. I have just discovered your blog via Champagne Cartel and was laughing out loud at your shopping with children description. Coles online is the best invention ever, I was a very early adopter due to the combination of hating grocery shopping with a passion and having to wrangle toddlers on shopping excursions. Before Coles online grocery shopping was hideous. However, my local Coles got to know us and the wonderful ladies would take my full trolley and get me another, distract the toddler or baby if they were screaming too loudly, arrange for a man to carry my groceries out to the car and put them in the car while I wrangled the children into car seats. I still see those ladies (who remember me which is a bit of a worry!) occasionally when I have to do a mercy dash. The babies are now 18 and 15.

    And thank you for the hot cross bun recipe, I’ll be giving that a crack this weekend. Practicing for Easter.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys April 6, 2014 at 7:06 am #

      I love that the memory is burnt into your brain all of these years later! Good luck with the buns. Let me know how you go. x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baking bread for dummies: focaccia | Champagne CartelChampagne Cartel - April 2, 2014

    […] of Danielle at Keeping Up with the Holsbys while I was at the supermarket. She recently published a great recipe for spelt hot cross buns – next on my list of things to bake (and if you need another reason to read that post, try […]

Leave a Reply

