It’s ok to be sad and eat Healthy Chocolate Crackles

7 Apr

healthy chocolate cracklesSome people find running therapeutic. I don’t. It helps with stress, sure. It gets me into my body, and gives me time to ponder, helps me quiet the cacophony but it’s not particularly therapeutic for me.

I find my therapy in the kitchen.

I like the ordered routine of finding ingredients in the cupboard, measuring with hands or by eye, throwing into bowls or mixing or chopping.

It has a perfect order in which to do things and I find comfort in that. It’s like a I’m a machine simply working and creating something and it doesn’t matter what else is happening because I’m in the task.

We all feel sad sometimes, but the thing about the ‘negative’ emotions is we all try really hard to hide them. We paste that smile on our dials and get on with things with a stuff upper lip.

Tears in the car, tears in the shower, tears in the dark. Hidden sadness, because that’s what we do. Stash it away so we don’t feel uncomfortable that people know we’re sad, and they don’t feel uncomfortable watching awkward, burning tears trailing down your face and that one rogue tear that sneaks down your nasal crease, plummeting near your nostril and leaves question as to whether it’s snot, or it’s not (sounds the same, right?).

It’s almost as though allowing people to see you in the dark stuff is a weakness, and we must rise above to show how stoic and resilient we are no matter how badly shit may be crumbling around your ears.

I’m feeling the blues at the moment, bigger and bluer than an elephant’s arse in fact, and I’m right in the heart of it and to be honest even if I just tried to shake it off it’s sticking to me like shit in bear fur….. do you know that joke?

A bear is in the woods and a little rabbit hops past and the the bear says –

‘Do you have trouble with poo sticking to your fur?’

And the rabbit answers ‘not at all’ so the bear picks up the little rabbit and wipes his butt with it.

I never thought it was funny. Especially not for the poo stained rabbit.

healthy chocolate cracklesThe whys and the wherefores of my blues aren’t relevant right now, what is relevant is that you hear me (and I hear me say) say it’s ok to be sad. It’s ok to let your friends see you cry.

You don’t need to be strong all the damned time.

I was on couch yesterday being blue, doing blue – you know, big sighs, staring into space, having a wallow – for half an hour before I was well and truly over myself and I made myself go into the alchemy space and get busy in the kitchen.

I made a big pot of chilli for during the week but that wasn’t the thing I wanted to eat away my feelings with when I remembered my friend from Dynamic Fitness & Health talks about these cluster things she makes….. I never ate one of hers but I saw a picture and made this up by feel.

Mine is a fruit and nut chocolate crackle packed with good stuff.

What you will need :

  • a handful of puffed corn (health food aisle)
  • a handful of puffed brown rice
  • a handful of puffed quinoa
  • a handful of shredded coconut
  • a handful of chopped almonds
  • 2 tablespoons sesame seeds
  • 2 tablespoons sunflower seeds
  • a handful of sultanas
  • 5 pieces dark dark chocolate
  • 1 heaped tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1 tablespoon  golden syrup

 

What you will need to do :

Turn your oven onto 180C. Chuck your dry stuff minus the sultanas and chocolate onto a baking tray and toast it all up for about 5-7 minutes

Meanwhile, over a double boiler melt your chocolate, syrup and coconut oil together until combined.

Toss your toasted dry ingredients, and sultanas into the chocolate mix and stir until all coated.

Spoon into patty cases (I used small for small people and big for me) and refrigerate until solid and chocolate crackle like.

 

chocolate crackles

 

 

Cook Once, Feed All COVER_lr

Cook Once, Feed All is about making your life easier whilst preparing nutritious and quick food for your family. Hailed by Mouths of Mums as the ‘must have recipe book for all families’, this book is a collection of family friendly recipes, all accompanied by stories from my life.

To order your hardcopy of Cook Once, Feed All head to the Holsby Shop right now.

If you like what you’re reading why not like my Facebook page now or subscribe via email, to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

 

 

7 Responses to “It’s ok to be sad and eat Healthy Chocolate Crackles”

  1. Bunny Eats Design April 7, 2014 at 8:20 am #

    Poor poop bunny. Our bunny used to be rather poopy, but his surgery has fixed all that.

    I also find solace in the kitchen. With a glass of wine in hand, even better! When everything is going bad, making headway in the kitchen and being rewarded with a delicious meal is cathartic. It’s interesting, people feel that if they bare all, it’s showing weakness. But if someone bears all to me, that is courage.

    Nice crackles, they look different from when I was a kid. These look gluten free? I suppose they are traditionally gluten free.

    Hugs to your big blue elephant butt.

  2. Nina April 7, 2014 at 9:17 am #

    When the blues hit me, they hit hard.
    For me, it’s those ‘waves of grief’ that gets talked about so often. When mine hit I’m left flailing around in my ocean for about a week at a time.

    I think at this point I’ve learned to accept that this is what will happen – I hate it because it’s so debilitating – but I also see it as a tribute to how much I love/loved my bestest buddy of 28 years. (Me always looking for positives in any situation).

    I have a tendency to shut myself off from the world when I feel the emotion coming on. Creating is what helps me get through my ‘elephant butt’ times. It’s like going to my ‘happy place’ inside the turmoil of my mind.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and hope your blues turn to bright happy days soon 🙂 x

  3. San April 7, 2014 at 8:22 pm #

    Darling, beautiful gal, How I’d LOVE to give you a HUGE hug and reassure you that it helps to remember – no situation is permanent, situations do change and life is continously in a state of flux. Your true friends will embrace your sadness the same as they will your joy, and the source of both is the same, so to know one is to know the other, meaning to feel personal grief and sorrow is to have the ability to know and appreciate enormous happiness and joy ……and YOU WILL!!! Friends who matter wont mind and “friends” who mind don’t matter. Seek out the beautiful and the positive, megahugs and a snog for good measure,
    The Rabbit :o)

  4. Glen April 7, 2014 at 9:14 pm #

    It so saddens me that you are hurting. Life can be so damn painful and I’m at a loss for words Danielle. You bring so much sunshine into all our lives, if we could only do the same for you now. You show great courage always. Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, “I will try again tomorrow”. Keep your chin up honey.

  5. larva225 April 8, 2014 at 1:29 am #

    Hang in there. You’re in inspiration to me that you can create anything while in that state. I just get paralyzed.

  6. Sydney, Kids, Food + Travel April 11, 2014 at 6:17 am #

    Oh I do like the look of that recipes. The blues and chocolate go hand in hand here at Casa Chaos, the finest dark chocolate for my very first world issues. I have to pat myself on the back and say that I am a very good sharer of my feelings, and good at asking for help too. Good for me. I had a bit of a troubled day yesterday, all weepy and was much cheered by seeing two lovely women pals… and eating some chocolate… these look good, adding to my emotional aresenal.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Fizz: bubbles of awesome from the web | Champagne CartelChampagne Cartel - April 11, 2014

    […] It’s okay to be sad and eat healthy chocolate crackles – Danielle from Keeping Up with the Holsbys walks a fine and beautiful line of sharing some pretty profound and moving thoughts about sadness, and sharing an outstanding recipe for healthy chocolatey goodness. I’m a bit in love with this woman. Don’t tell her. […]

Leave a Reply

