4

10 Apr

first lookMy big little man,

1459 days we’ve spent together but it’s been 1460 nights.

35, 040 hours have past since you were first laid upon my bare breast and you looked straight at me, straight in my eyes, and they said –

I KNOW YOU.

That first night with you beside my bed I couldn’t sleep a wink. I couldn’t believe you were here. I couldn’t believe you were mine.

So perfect, so sweet smelling. That didn’t last.

D Man and mama

Countless heartbeats have passed between us but your heartbeats are your own now. I used to feel every one, but you are getting more distant as you turn from a baby into a boy. In a few more blinks of my eyes you’ll be a man.

They always said it goes fast, and it does. Not the nights. The endless, drawn out nights where you cried, or were ill, and I held you, but they seem so far away now when all you want from me is maybe a quick cuddle or to take you for a pee before you roll over and snuggle your face into Rat and spoon that toy that is no longer bigger than you.

You’re so confident and smart. You chat to people, and you charm them with your funny wit or silliness, unless you drive them nuts with your whining. That happens too.

You surprise me and delight me endlessly and I really couldn’t be prouder of you.

D man almost oneToday you are four.

The first birthday that I won’t be with you all day.

I feel a healthy dose of mother’s guilt over that, but it’s also the first birthday that your Papa has spent the whole day with you. He’ll show you a grand old time and we’ll kick it large on the weekend with a chocolate cake bigger than your head.

When we were leaving the supermarket today I gave you and Kiki a biscuit. You were stoked, but your cranky pants sister didn’t want it and she hit it out of my hand and onto the ground.

Then she wanted it, naturally.

I refused to give her another, and nor would I pick the one up off the carpark floor, and she squawked and squawked. As we were driving off she suddenly went quiet. I figured she was inhaling a really huge breath in order to give it some more however when I turned she was eating half a biscuit.

D man about twoYou had split yours and passed it over in the backseat.

Now, don’t get me wrong, boy, you are a stinker when you want to be, and you torture that poor sister of yours, but in that moment I saw your true character, and you’re a good dude.

Happy birthday, D Man.

I love you to the shops and back,

Mama xxx

DSC_0289 D Man 4

9 Responses to “4”

  1. Neets April 10, 2014 at 7:28 am #

    Just gorgeous. Happy birthday to your beautiful little boy.

  2. ironchefshellie April 10, 2014 at 7:31 am #

    awwww he is gonna be a heart breaker! Happy birthday little man!

  3. Nealie April 10, 2014 at 7:37 am #

    so so so bewdiful. how lucky we are to enjoy our kids so much, but to be able to let them go as well. at every milestone you lament what’s being left behind, but look excitedly toward the future. i can’t wait till he shows up with his partner & they are living & working in london for a bit & he has the tinge of an english accent & he’s all worldly and shit!! will be GREAT!!! but for now, happy birthday little guy – here’s to the promise of all that is to come xx love the barkers

  4. Helen R April 10, 2014 at 8:00 am #

    Happy happy birthday DMan! It feels like only yesterday you were rolling around on the floor at Pilates at the Rex or hanging out at mummy’s bootcamp. It felt like a marathon at the time but in retrospect it was a sprint. I can’t believe our babies are all turning 4. It freaks me out because I have tonnes of memories from when I was four so now I’m going to have to watch myself…

  5. Elisa {With Grace & Eve} April 10, 2014 at 8:17 am #

    So beautiful! And love that moment between your babies! Happy birthday to your little man x

  6. Sarah April 10, 2014 at 8:43 am #

    Happy Birthday D Man. And well done on your mum surviving the year of 3! That’s a tough one but she’s done a great job with you.

  7. San April 10, 2014 at 8:12 pm #

    Congratulations D Man on this milestone birthday. They say when you have a baby it’s like your heart becomes a separate entity and starts running around outside your body. Altho’ I’m not a mum to a beautiful boy like you, I have 2 daughters, each with 4 legs (no, NOT a faulty gene) and covered in fur (ok, I accept that there COULD be genetics involved with that one….) but the love is, I’m certain,very similar. Unconditional, fiercely loyal and protective. You are so GORGEOUS. I agree, you’re going to be a lil’ heartbreaker, who couldn’t love you!!!! Congrats. Holsbys. D Man can have my slice of cake :o)

  8. Chloe April 11, 2014 at 3:27 pm #

    Aww thats a beautiful read! Happy Birthday D man! đŸ™‚ xxxx

  9. Sharon Longmore April 12, 2014 at 4:49 pm #

    Loved this Dan. Happy belated 4th birthday to D Man from Casey’s GMum ; )

Leave a Reply

