Never forget the true meaning of Easter….. The Easter Show.

20 Apr

The idea of the Royal Easter Show sends shivers down my spine. Not those exciting anticipatory shivers, but more like the shivers you get just before you pass diarrhoea.

I get that The Show is kinda fun, but it’s just such a ball ache.

It’s the mission to get there, the throngs of bogans, the gaggles upon swarms of other people’s children, the Dagwood Dogs from oily smelling vans, the penned animals in humid tents, exorbitant parking, the waiting – oh, the waiting in lines – and the million dollars you spend in order to have this horrible day out.

I reckon it would be fairly safe to call me the Easter Grinch….. that was until this year. I was pumped.

I admit that I only braved the baby sister lame-o excursion to the Easter Family Show at Fox Studios, but it had everything I described just in smaller, more palatable doses.

In fact, The Grinch had herself bags of fun…. but man, that four hours felt like a 48 hour dance-a-thon. My feet were sore, my back ached, I was covered in a mild layer of dirt, and I had tomato sauce smeared all over me making me look like I’d been to battle.

The kids had a great day though but it’s hard to tell, check out D Man’s head when he’s finally got hold of the first hotdog of his life.

A horse walks into a bar, or what????

the arrival the show

 

the rides the show

the show

kiks and clowns the showDSC_0022

the lego, the showthe lego the showthe junk food the showjosh and ducks the showthe animals the showthe birds the showthe mice, the showthe love the show

the show bag, the showthe end the show

If you like what you’re seeing, why not like my Facebook page now?

You can also subscribe via email, or follow me on Instagram and twitter at The Holsbys to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

 

5 Responses to “Never forget the true meaning of Easter….. The Easter Show.”

  1. coloursofsunset April 20, 2014 at 6:57 pm #

    oooh a big ol’ fair with lots of people, smelly animals, expensive rides and bags, please, tell me why we cant’ go every day?! sorry, sarcasm overload. Sounds like my worst nightmare but I am glad to hear you all had a great time! I went to a much smaller “family fun day” but please, I beg of you, tell me what’s so fun about waiting an hour in EACH line to get your face painted, ride a pony that looks like an over-sized horse, and have a (scary looking) clown twist a balloon (the only thing I hate more than clowns) into a poodle?!!?

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys April 20, 2014 at 7:06 pm #

      I hear you. I’m reckoning after this year I’m good for a decade. Hectic doesn’t adequately describe!!
      Balloons eh??? Weirdo. 😉

  2. Sam Stone April 21, 2014 at 7:21 pm #

    I love the hot dog shot, that is pure gold.

  3. Have A Laugh On Me April 22, 2014 at 10:17 am #

    Love me a fair, not so much with kids who always need to wee. The Gold Coast show is nice and manageable. Great pics 🙂

Leave a Reply

