And then you were 2.

8 May

kiki babyAt kindy the other day one of your teachers asked me if I’d been having any trouble with you, my littlest love.

I responded that I had notices a few changes, that you had indeed been more obstinate, more disobedient than usual, why did she ask?

She told me that you not only blatantly refused to do as you were asked a number of times, but you gave her a filthy death stare as you stood your ground.

I was secretly a little bit proud. It’s hard to be cross with you.

kiki and dexIs this 2, we wonder?

Do we have an entire year of this before the threes take hold?

My love, my dear heart, my sweet little girl, I think this may actually be you. Feisty, determined, fierce.

You are such a headstrong creature that I think perhaps we are destined to years of you blatantly, obstinately disregarding directions and doing whatever the hell you want.

kiki 2You know what?

Maybe if you were my first child I would worry, but as my second, I think ‘you go, girl’. You are so delightful in a myriad of ways that your desire to stand your ground ought to serve you well in time.kiki in bumbo

We will butt heads no doubt, but your soft and loving side will never be buried too far beneath your stubbornness and I think I will always be able to snaffle a schnuggle out of you.

You do love a schnuggle and I love to bury my nose into the soft flesh of your neck and just breathe in the caramel smell of my baby…. even though you’re not quite as sweet smelling as you once were, I’ll always be intoxicated by you.

kiki around 1

You will always be my baby girl, and I will always have your back.

The time has gone fast, my girl. It’s been a wild ride with many changes but it’s passed me by in a flash of firsts.

You were slow to walk.

I imagined you crawling into your first day of high school for a while there, but there you finally stood on your chubby little legs and you wobbled your butt as you took those first uncertain strides. Now you run. You fall a lot so I’m guessing you have your mother’s coordination, but you do so love to run….away from me when I’m trying to get you into the car, or get you dressed.

kiki 2You may have been slow to walk but you are quick to laugh. You think your brother is hilarious, except when you think he’s a pain in the ass. You oscillate about 60/40, I reckon.

You’re generous with your love. Throwing your arms around people, throwing your entire little body at them for a cuddle. Pulling yourself onto laps, locking yourself around legs. You have no shortage of love to give, this much I know.

Today is your 2nd birthday, dear Kikster.

You talk better than many of your peers, and count to 20 but you still pee your pants so we won’t put you down as a prodigy just yet, but know that your Mama thinks you’re the coolest little girl in the world.

kiki at 2Because you’re mine.

And your double dimples simply melt me every. single. time.

Happy birthday, Angel.

Today is your day and we will eat chocolate cake, and drink strawberry smoothies, swing you on the garden swing, go and feed the ducks and paint with bright colours, because these are the things that you enjoy the most, and we shall do them with gusto on your second birthday.

kiki almost 2I love you, Wiggles.

Always,

Your Mama.

 

If you like what you’re seeing, why not like my Facebook page now as I have a whole shebangalang going on there.

You can also subscribe via email, or follow me on Instagram and twitter at The Holsbys to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

 

 

14 Responses to “And then you were 2.”

  1. Carolyn @ Champagne Cartel May 8, 2014 at 9:00 am #

    Ugh, you just made me cry in public, you evil woman. What a beautiful tribute to a clearly very beautiful little girl. It seems Kiki and my Harriet have a great deal in common. At nearly 20 months, Harriet is yet to walk and is incredibly stubborn and fiery of temper. But she is also hilarious, a great cuddler and talker, and just the cutest wee button around. Fingers crossed she will follow in Kiki’s upright footsteps and bloody walk before her second birthday. 🙂 Happy babyversary, Mama. xxx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 8, 2014 at 5:40 pm #

      And you cried at the museum… I’m thinking you may be a tad squishy today.
      But thanks for the mama love. Made it 2 years!

  2. Bunny Eats Design May 8, 2014 at 9:58 am #

    Happy birthday litle Kiki!

    Please teach me the filthy death stare. I might need it one day.

  3. Propeller Graphics May 8, 2014 at 10:10 am #

    Oh my favorite pumpkin 🙂 happy birthday to her xxx

    m: 0404 243 446 | http://www.propellergraphics.com.au

  4. Nanny Shecando May 8, 2014 at 10:38 am #

    Ugh. I shed a tear in public on my way to work this morning reading this. Oh the terrible twos. Good luck. Happy birthday Kiki!

  5. San May 8, 2014 at 5:54 pm #

    aaaaaahhhhhhhhh, genetics :o)…. you can run but ya’ can’t hide! They DO come back to bite us in the bum but come on Girlfriend, to have the “death stare” down at 2, (every woman should have one) The Kikster ROCKS!!! You SHOULD be proud!!! Happy birthday Bubba, wishing you every happiness for your special day, be loud and proud hunny. I know you’ll be warm,kind and sensitive as well cos’ that’s very much a part of your gene pool and comes through in the pics. your Mama sends us. You can have my slice of cake darling …… Dexter had mine on HIS birthday so it’s only fair and frankly, I don’t wanna’ be on the other end of ‘that’ stare!!!!! Megasnuggles hunny, you to Kik :o)

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 9, 2014 at 6:36 am #

      Screw the kid, she doesn’t need more cake, it’s mama that does the heavy lifting around this joint- I needses that extra energy!!!

  6. Emily @ Have A Laugh On Me May 8, 2014 at 9:38 pm #

    Aww so precious, ah yes the stubborn 2s, mine isn’t cheeky at kindy thought, just at home, he’s favourite words when I ask him to do something and he doesn’t want to – no, stinky bum, poo poo head. Happy birthday to your precious cherub. Had many people ask if you’re having another?

  7. San May 9, 2014 at 2:20 pm #

    Yep, whether you see the glass as half full or half empty, the important thing is there’s ALWAYS room for MORE wine ;o)

  8. Sam Stone May 9, 2014 at 6:47 pm #

    Such a beautiful post and what a beautiful girl.

Leave a Reply

