Overhauling lives. Do you need an overhaul?

11 May

Felicity and Overhaul WellnessI’ve had this little project under my hat for a few weeks for a couple of reasons. One of those reasons is as a blogger you need to ‘be aware of your brand’ and ‘understand what your readers want’.

When I started I was ‘just’ a mum looking for an outlet, and I had no idea it would turn into an avenue to create amazing relationships, a career as a freelance writer, some cash on the side as a blogger, and turn my love of food into something I can write about, share far and wide, and educate people with.

Basically, I’m turning my outlet into a way to make money and put food on my family’s table. Doing stuff I’m passionate about.

Yesterday I had the most amazing experience, and I want to share it with you…..brand, be damned.
You are my peeps and you care what I’m up to, and this is way fucking cool.

You may remember a post I wrote about a personal trainer/psych student, (who has become my friend) Felicity?

Well, she recently suggested we join forces and bring all of the knowledge we both have about mind, body and spirit to create a workshop for people who need to learn techniques and skills to bring balance into their lives.

Nourishment, exercise and stress management are the three key areas we decided to tackle.

Yesterday was our maiden workshop. We did a mini-workshop of 3.5 hours to test the waters and see how our concept was received. I’m so moved by the outcomes because I not only shared my knowledge, but received so much in return.

We kicked the day off with goal setting and a chat about what’s holding people back.

The goal setting was really enlightening for me because here were these 9 ladies, of all different ages and walks of life, with children of various ages and you know what they all regarded as the main issues holding them back were?

Stress.

Time.

Not saying no enough.

Every. Single. Person.

Just like me.

Is that you too?

Next was a chat about the importance of appropriate exercise and Felicity whipped our clients up into a sweat with a 45 minute circuit work out. We had all different fitness levels and everyone was thoughtfully catered for.

Overhaul Wellness circuit workoutIt was awesome to see the faces of these ladies who had been dying to get back into exercise but hadn’t been able to make it happen. They were exerting themselves, but they were also loving it. There was sweat, but not one expletive, so it was just the right amount of difficult.

The feedback was that 45 minutes was SOOOO much more achievable than an hour, and doing it in a group spurred them on.

I taught a super food cooking masterclass (wouldn’t be complete without a feast, right?).

chia pudding Overhaul WellnessI made some chia pudding to whet their appetites while I talked about the importance of nutrition as the corner stone of our wellbeing, and then followed with  humus with dukkah toasted mountain bread.

Our main feast was roast cauliflower and raw broccoli quinoa salad and lean chicken kofte followed by my date and almond power balls.

I just chatted.

You know me, I’m not dairy-free, gluten-free-paleo-mum, I just love food.

I just talked about the stuff I love and why I love it and it was a really amazing experience. They ate and made all of the appropriate lip smacking noises and I realised I need not have been nervous talking to these people, because they are my people.

They like my food, they might not have known it yet, but they do.

Danielle and Overhaul WellnessThey were ready to learn because they’re inviting change into their lives.

We finished off the workshop with a talk about stress management complete with a 20 minute relaxation to finish off the day.

We had 9 ladies join us, and although they may have been a little reserved to begin with, by the end of it there was a deep sense of community and belonging. They shared their wellness trials and tribulations and we, for a few hours, were a village.

A support network for each other and shoulder to lean on and learn from.

As young ladies, 40 and under (40 is the new young, right?), they were telling stories of their anxiety attacks making them think they were dying, to health issues causing multiple mini-strokes, to husbands not willing to support them on a health journey, I realised ONCE MORE that everyone is wonderful and unique and fighting their own fight.

Anyway, I have a new project. A little business, if you will.

It’s called Overhaul Wellness and if you wanted to like our Facebook page we’d be much obliged.

If you wanted a piece of the action we are planning another day, a full day workshop in June.

Do you want an Overhaul?

By the way, Happy Mother’s Day, ladies. Hope you have an amazing day being spoilt by your peeps.

If you like what you’re seeing, why not like my Facebook page now as I have a whole shebangalang going on there.

You can also subscribe via email, or follow me on Instagram and twitter at The Holsbys to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

 

 

 

11 Responses to “Overhauling lives. Do you need an overhaul?”

  1. Sam Stone @ A Life on Venus May 11, 2014 at 9:31 am #

    What an amazing idea! You are really inspiring D 🙂 xo

  2. Flamingo Dancer May 11, 2014 at 11:53 am #

    Just having someone to talk with and to discover that “it is not just me” is all some of us need. Good luck!

  3. ksbeth May 11, 2014 at 12:38 pm #

    how absolutely wonderful, what a great idea and i’m so happy for you ) beth

  4. San May 11, 2014 at 4:24 pm #

    Brilliant!!! Too many women are really very shy and under confident to mix it with people at a gym/nutrition class, so methinks this is an environment a lot of girls are going to embrace, AND it sounds fun. Personally, I’ve learned to listen to my body, I just can’t repeat what it says!!! :o) Happy Mother’s Day all the Mums out there – you are ALL AWESOME

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 12, 2014 at 7:05 pm #

      You’re so right. A nice safe environment is a great place to start.

      You’re pretty awesome yourself. x

      • San May 12, 2014 at 9:50 pm #

        Reading you writing that makes me feel it (awesome that is) and THAT makes me think maybe that’s all any of us need – to be told we’re awesome once in a while :o) and worth the effort!!! back at ya’ Hunnybunch, snogs.

  5. Zanni Arnot May 12, 2014 at 9:26 am #

    Sounds really fabulous Dan. There’s a lady local to me called Janelle Ware from Synergy Personal Training and she does something similar. She is literally transforming our community. It’s amazing and inspiring. She’s helped lots of people, and is so positive and passionate about what she does. By the way, with branding stuff, I reckon this totally fits in! But I know I am guilty of doing lots of different things via my blog, and sometimes wonder if that’s why I don’t build a huge audience. I am passionate about too many things! But hey. x

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 12, 2014 at 7:04 pm #

      I think you just need to write what you like, what interests you. As long as the people you do have love what you write, numbers aren’t important.
      Easily said though, huh?

      Yeah, I’m excited about this opportunity!

Leave a Reply

