Monster Birthdays Are Us.

21 May

Last year at D Man’s 3rd birthday party I organised a game or two prior but I cracked the wine before anyone got there and by the time it was in full swing I was two sheets to the wind and just let it go. The dinosaur archeology sandpit quest went undug, my egg and spoon race went unrun, and basically I failed the party.

I had a great time until my friendly neighbour kindly pointed out to me that it not my party, but my kids, and I should step up my game.

Was she challenging me?

Or just bagging the crap outta me?

Both.

But I copped it on the chin and stepped up my game. I made games, wrapped Pass the Parcel, overstuffed and piñata (rookie error. Did you know there was such as thing as too many lollies????) and layered jelly with monsters eyeballs.

I set up a face painting station and I didn’t drink wine until anyone arrived.

Shit, man, I had bunting. My cyber friend Bron from Maxabella Loves swears it ain’t a kid’s party until you have bunting.

I so had this Monster party in the bag, my friends.

In. The. Bag.

Except……………….

My cake was utterly spectacular to look at, but in the name of full disclosure I must shamefacedly admit to a fail. That damned thing was so dense you needed a chainsaw to cut it.

I’m not being modest, it was almost unanimous. It sucked.

holsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster partyholsby monster party

If you like what you’re seeing, why not like my Facebook page now?

You can also subscribe via email, or follow me on Instagram and twitter at The Holsbys to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

 

6 Responses to “Monster Birthdays Are Us.”

  1. Bunny Eats Design May 21, 2014 at 2:23 pm #

    Awesome photos!

    I don’t know if you know but The Koala and my company design company is called Monster so monster themed anything is awesome in my books.

    The cake looks awesome and to be fair, all that remains in 10 years time are photos. Though a mini-chainsaw would be awesome. Like how you can get mini-blowtorches for the kitchen, you should be able to be mini-chainsaws.

    *toddles off to investigate*

    Awesome! Check it out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UjFlbNIo4QU

  2. Emily @ Have A Laugh On Me May 21, 2014 at 6:47 pm #

    Nothing better than just letting kids run wild at birthday parties – it’s much more fun that way!

  3. Rory May 21, 2014 at 8:16 pm #

    Pin the tail on the Donkey – Haven’t seen that one in ages!

  4. Sam Stone @ A Life on Venus May 24, 2014 at 4:33 pm #

    I’m lovin’ it. ANd you are right that cake looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

