Portrait 365 : 147 – 152

30 May

Sarah & Paul

Sarah & Paul

“I wrote a book called Catechisms – Insights From Cats to raise money for a meditation retreat called Clear Sky. I could write the book and get the content together but printing the book was really hard.”
You can check Paul’s Catechisms Facebook page here.

Adriana

Adriana

“I cut my hair totally forgetting that I have my cousins’s wedding coming up and I’m a bridesmaid. I thought she’d freak when she saw it but she loved it and made me promise not to grow it out.”
Chatting to this young lady, I realised that she has no idea how ridiculously gorgeous she is. I like that.

Renae

Renae

“I have kids so I’d say their births were my happiest moments. When my first daughter was born I’d had no drugs and it was incredible. I couldn’t sleep all night because I kept having to look at her lying next to me.”

 

Matt

Matt

“I was 16 years old when I ran across the border with 5 other boys from Hungary to Yugoslavia. It was during the revolution and the Russians were shooting at us as we ran. It was the middle of the night and we had nothing but the clothes we wore. Search lights flashed across the snow and we had to hide. We didn’t know exactly where the border was so we kept going until a soldier stopped us. We didn’t know if he was Russian and would kill us, but he was friendly. We moved around in refugee camps and after many months I was selected to come to Australia.”
I was entranced by Matt. We talked for about 40 minutes after meeting on the train. His entire life was as adventurous as this.

Andrea

Andrea

“My English is not good. I only speak a little.”
Didn’t care. Just quietly.

Vito

Vito

“We are street dancers, but we do not live on the street. We have a message for the kids. Kids, you can be anything you want to be but before that, get an education.We are not in gangs, we are not selling drugs, we are promoting hip hop – Healthy Independent People Helping Other People. Always remember there’s only one race in the world – the human race. Live together and be more civilised.”
I hugged the crap outta this kid.  He got me right in the heart.

 

If you like what you’re seeing, why not like my Facebook page now?

You can also subscribe via email, or follow me on Instagram and twitter at The Holsbys to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

 

3 Responses to “Portrait 365 : 147 – 152”

  1. Michelle May 30, 2014 at 7:26 pm #

    I love seeing your posts pop into my inbox esp your portrait section, your photos always bring a smile to my face. What interesting people you met this week. I would love to sit down with Matt and hear his life story…..so more interesting than mine!

Leave a Reply

