Apple Fritters and A Daunting Dance Card

3 Jun

apple fritters recipeYou know that old expression be careful what you wish for?

I don’t reckon many people would wish for herpes so I figure as long as you’re wishing for something positive that doesn’t leave a burning sensation in your knicks, knock yourself out.

It helps to be specific so the Universe, or the angels, or God, or whomever you wish to doesn’t mess it up. You know, don’t just make a blanket wish for ‘more excitement’ cos that shit can be tres confusing to the powers that be, know what I’m sayin’?

I wished to be a freelance writer who could work from home and be with my kids and balance everything beautifully.

Luckily, farking luckily, for me, it would appear it’s kinda happening.

I admit I’ve put in some yards, and as we know hard work accentuates luck, but still…..L.U.C.K.Y M.O.F.O.

But first things first, let’s talk the about Kidspot Voices 2014 because that is one of the flukiest damned things that I ever did see.

You know how made it into the Kidspot Top 30 Parenting and Personal blogs?

No?

Well, I didn’t really mention it here, because I didn’t wish to be a douchey bragger, and although it’s lurvely to receive a kudos from the community, the competition is well fierce I didn’t really think I’d get far in the comp.

The gorgeous Amanda from the Cooker and a Looker and I at the Voices announcement party (may be a tad squiffy)

The gorgeous Amanda from the Cooker and a Looker and I at the Voices announcement party (may be a tad squiffy)

Which I didn’t……. the Top 5 was announced, I wasn’t in it.

Then, like a goldfish I promptly forgot about it until I received an email recently telling me that one of the original Top 5 had to pull out due to personal matters, and being as I only just missed out by the skin of my teeth, did I want to step up to Top 5 and get back in the game?

This is the part where I did a cartwheel and tore my middle-aged, slightly dimply, inner thigh.

Voices2014-nominee_P&P_TOP_5_Am I pissy that I wasn’t in the original picking?

Are you kidding? I eat cold vegemite toast off the floor, for god’s sake. I have little pride.

As if that wasn’t cool enough, same day I had a meeting with the fab editors over at Essential Kids and you are looking at (well, reading) the very latest Fairfax (douchey bragger) food writer.

You know I hate BOOM, but……

apple frittersI’m a lucky mofo, right?????

I bought myself a wall calendar and scrawled all over that puppy because I’m a shocker at remembering dates and deadlines and suddenly there seems to be many of them. HEAPS.

Little bit scary.

I do feel I’ve been neglecting you guys a tad though. I mean, you’re my first love.

It’s you guys and this space and all my hours of spilling my guts that have got me to this point… so let me make you a special little breakfast.

Just pretend we’ve had a sleep over you and I, drank too much celebratory champers, eaten ourselves silly and passed out without removing our make-up. Now I’m whipping this up in my dressing gown while you drink tea and stare at Giggle and Hoot, all the while wishing my kids would shut that infernal racket up.

There’s a banana in the picture below because this rocks with banana too. If you want to use gluten free flour it works, I’ve done that too, but this time I just went spelt.

You can also use plain flour. Your brekky, your choice.

I don’t have an apple corer and I’ve NEVER succeeded in removing the core until this day…. see what I mean?

L.U.C.K.Y M.O.F.O

If you’re not so lucky, just halve it, and a V wedge out where the core is and serve moons rather than rounds like I do every other day.

apple frittersYield : serves 4

What you will need :

  • 1/2 cup spelt flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla paste
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 large apples, cored and sliced into rounds
  • Coconut oil, or butter for frying
  • vanilla yoghurt, for serving
  • raspberry jam (or your preference), for serving

What you need to do :

Toss your flour and baking powder into a bowl and stir quickly to combine.

Make a well, dump in your egg, vanilla and milk and stir until smooth as a baby’s butt.

Get your frypan nice and hot with your coconut oil or butter, before dipping in your apple rounds, ensuring they’re nice and coated before you pop them ito the pan.

Flip when brown. Repeat until done. Smear with jam, blob with yoghurt and nosh it up with gusto.

BOOM!

apple fritters

Flukey perfect apple round – B.O.O.M.

 

Cook Once, Feed All COVER_lr

Cook Once, Feed All is about making your life easier whilst preparing nutritious and quick food for your family. Hailed by Mouths of Mums as the ‘must have recipe book for all families’, this book is a collection of family friendly recipes, all accompanied by stories from my life.

To order your hardcopy of Cook Once, Feed All head to the Holsby Shop right now.

If you like what you’re reading why not like my Facebook page now or subscribe via email, to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

21 Responses to “Apple Fritters and A Daunting Dance Card”

  1. Deborah June 3, 2014 at 8:06 am #

    Daneille, I am so terribly pleased that your ‘wonderfulness’ is being acknowledged. I knew it wasn’t just me who knows how special you are. Go girl. Love from Deborah in Whangarei Heads.

  2. Jodie@FreshHomeCook June 3, 2014 at 8:50 am #

    Congratulations Danielle! This is amazing news! I am such a huge fan & so excited to see things working out that way you wanted. Lucky MOFO or not, you are such an inspiration!! Looking forward to seeing what comes next! 🙂

  3. Cooker and a Looker June 3, 2014 at 8:51 am #

    So thrilled for you Danielle. You make your own luck baby! x

  4. Bunny Eats Design June 3, 2014 at 8:58 am #

    How did you get so glamorous? Or was that always under there underneath the mommy stuff? Congrats on being Top 5. A win is a win 🙂

  5. Zanni Arnot June 3, 2014 at 9:19 am #

    Very very happy for you, my good friend. x

  6. Claire June 3, 2014 at 9:37 am #

    Congratulations Danielle,
    I am one of your quite subscribers who looks forward to your email! You always give me a laugh and of course awesome recipes! You never falter on “keeping It real” and it’s a good reminder that us mums are all going through the same stuff!! You deserve all the ‘good fortune’ coming your way!
    Congrats again
    Claire

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 3, 2014 at 1:28 pm #

      Claire, my quiet subscriber, thank you so much for taking the time to say hi. You are most certainly not alone in this crazy mama gig.
      Thanks for the love.

  7. Fashionista June 3, 2014 at 9:43 am #

    Well done you! And thank you for a lovely blog (that I have only recently discovered so I’m still sneakily reading your archives).

    Isn’t it funny though, that the harder you work the luckier you become???

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 3, 2014 at 1:27 pm #

      Yay, welcome aboard the Holsby train. Wow, how are those archives? There’s a fair bit to wade through. I have waffled and waffled!! great to have you here.

  8. Hope (@NannyShecando) June 3, 2014 at 10:48 am #

    This recipe looks delicious, anything “apple” and I’m totally sold! Congratulations on all the good things coming you way, you definitely have put in the hard yards and have earned it – we make our own luck in this life!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 3, 2014 at 1:26 pm #

      I know, me too on the apple front. You do make your own luck, it sure doesn’t come looking for you on the couch!

  9. Have A Laugh On Me June 3, 2014 at 1:20 pm #

    BOOM! You smashed it like a crab girl, so very stoked for you on all accounts! Food writer extraordinaire and all-round fancy pants you are! x

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 3, 2014 at 1:26 pm #

      We should totally make a song ‘Smash it like a crab’….. we could make up a dance and go global. You and me, baby, all the way!!
      Thanks for the pants praise xxx

  10. claireyhewitt01 June 3, 2014 at 10:30 pm #

    Fantastic, that is one fabulous email to get. Congratulations.

  11. Vicki @ Knocked Up and Abroad June 3, 2014 at 10:55 pm #

    Things are very rad for you right now. You deserve to be a douchey bragger! Congratso you x

  12. Sam Stone @ A Life on Venus June 6, 2014 at 6:09 pm #

    I am so happy for you to be in the Top 5, very well deserved. xo

Leave a Reply

