Portrait 365 : 153 – 159

6 Jun

Nick

Nick

“Last year I had 7 strokes, and I was 40 kilos overweight. I was a slave to other people’s dreams. Now, the only yardstick I measure myself by is my internal one.”
I was pounding the boxing bag and Nick came up and commented on my ‘wild haymaker’. He proceeded to train me with great patience and killer technique. We decided to make it a regular thing.

Ingrid

Ingrid

“I’m a writer and a poet. I’m super proud of my poetry and prose recordings. I’m doing a cafe poet in residence in tasmania soon through the poets union and then I’ll finish my collection and hopefully have a book!”

 

Unknown

Unknown

 

Joss & Elizabeth

Joss & Elizabeth

“Vivid is cool. I like the fact that you can stand right in the art and nothing else matters.”

Michael

Michael

“What’s something cool about you that you’re really proud of?”
“Oh, geez, my coolest thing is the I work at Universal Music.”

Helen

Helen

“In 1996 I won the open section of calligraphy at the Royal Easter Show and my work was exhibited in the Show Case of Excellence, I’ve stopped now though. I used to make wedding cakes. I would have made at least 5000 in my time.”
It was all about Helen’s red coat and hat. It was such a grey day but she cheered the street up with her jolly ensemble.

D Man

D Man

I don’t expect this portrait to mean much to many of you, but to me it symbolises a great achievement by my first born. For four years he’s hated swimming. Screamed and cried and whimpered the whole time. We stopped and started lessons because it broke my heart. For the last two weeks in a row, no tears.
Here he is swimming on his own, voluntarily, and he has just been laughing.

If you like what you’re seeing, why not like my Facebook page now?

You can also subscribe via email, or follow me on Instagram and twitter at The Holsbys to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

2 Responses to “Portrait 365 : 153 – 159”

  1. claireyhewitt01 June 6, 2014 at 10:58 pm #

    I’d like to know much more about Helen in the red coat. SHe looks so fun.

Leave a Reply

