Portrait 365 : 160 – 166

13 Jun

Yuri

Yuri

“Something that makes me smile every day is seeing beautiful girls like you!”

Kyren

Kyren

“He was drinking beer on the couch and he kind of flopped off onto one knee with one cheek still perched and he proposed to me. I was pretty happy with that approach.”

Rose

Rose

“I live in a boarding house with 23 other people. I don’t mind it though. That’s where I met my boyfriend.”

Rose had a handbag full of photographs, so we sat down and I met her whole family and saw photos of her in her wedding dress from 50 years ago. I was touched. She was very proud of her beautiful family.

Peter

Peter

“My father was a methodist minister who gave and gave and gave to people, then he died of a heart attack at 57. I’ve realised that giving and giving isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.”

I met Peter at a talk for the Australian Blog Festival. He was speaking about the impact his sister, Diana Bliss’, depression and subsequent suicide had on his life. He is a remarkable man, who is doing remarkable work. Check him out here.

Bella

Bella

“I’ve been working on a farm in Cairns and it has changed my life. I’m here from Korea on a working holiday and I’ve decided I’m going to move here and study nursing.”

Jackie

Jackie

“I fell in love with someone who told me that my dream career was stupid and to get a real job.Stupidly I listened to him and lived an unhappy life because I thought he was the love of my life. He manipulated and betrayed me, and I still thought he was the one.”

Jackie is an actress, and happens to also be one of my kids’ best friends.  And I love her to bits.

Chris

Chris

“I pulled out a map of the world and I thought ‘where can I go?’. I don’t want to be cold, it’s got to be ok for homos, and there’s got to be hot men. I want coconuts, lots of drinking and malaria. And the answer was Brazil.”

Let me tell you a story about this kid.We met 10 years ago in East Timor and instantly fell in platonic love. We stayed in touch for a bit but it was before Facebook (we laughed when we realised this) and we lost touch. He’s had many adventures and become a man, and I’ve become me. Three weeks ago, an hour away from my home in a place neither of us ever go we bumped into each other. When we went for a beer I remembered what a freakin’ special cat he is. Happy adventures, my friend. May Brazil give you everything you wish and more.

If you like what you’re seeing, why not like my Facebook page now?

You can also subscribe via email, or follow me on Instagram and twitter at The Holsbys to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

Leave a Reply

