Portrait 365 : 167 – 173

20 Jun

I’ve just realised that I’m 5.5 days away from being half-way through this project. I’m possibly jumping the gun by writing this spiel but I’m such a blurter….

I have mixed feelings about reaching this point.

Kind of relieved, because it’s been a bit of an epic journey but I’m also mega proud. I wasn’t sure if I’d stick with it, but I have, and if I’ve stuck it this far, right, so it’s just the same amount again (give or take.)

I’ve met some lovely people, suffered rejections and been inspired and moved, and I’m only half way.

And I’m getting better at it, which was the whole point of the whole shebangalang, right?

The more people I talk to the more I realise that everyone is amazing. Everyone makes dumb decisions, and everyone has epiphanies, and extraordinary ordinariness and ordinary extraordinariness exist hand and hand quite comfortably.

Anyway, for those of you that take the time to let me know you love this project, thank you.

I love it too.

It’s taught me as much about myself as it has about others.

Thanks for getting it.

 

 

Anastasia

Anastasia

“I am happy, but happy isn’t what I thought it would be.”
Ana and I met in mother’s group when our now 4 year olds were just weeks old. We decided we would never go back to mother’s group because listening to those chicks whinge sucked ass. Instead, we’d walk, talk, drink coffee, tea and wine, and we helped each other through that first year. Life, work, moving all got in the way and today we rectified that. I hope she knows exactly what I mean when I say that some people are just like a warm slipper.

Michael

Michael

“I think there’s hope. There’s always hope.”
Michael and I had just met at the latest Overhaul Wellness Day, and we were talking about life and love. I believe there’s hope. I also believe Michael is a wonderful optimist.

Fairy Sparkle

Fairy Sparkle

“A photo? But I haven’t even done my hair!”
“What’s something you’ve done that you’re proud of?”
“I received an OAM last week for Voluntary Service to children in hospital.”
I first met Fairy Sparkle a few years ago when I was writing a television series that I never got off the ground. I was so intrigued by her balance of eccentricity and business nouse.

Kirsty

Kirsty

“I’m loving my new necklace. I just got it today and it’s made from up cycled tee-shirts. My son bought it for me for my birthday.”
“Cool! How old is your son?”
“21 months”

 

Anika

Anika

My other heart. She melts me.

Martin

Martin

“I’d tell a young man to forget about the moment you are in now. Start to look to the future and the experience of older people around you. Get to know your family…That was lacking in my life. And write a diary.”

John

John

“I’d tell my 15 year old self to focus on health. I wish I’d done that sooner.”

 

If you like what you’re seeing, why not like my Facebook page now?

You can also subscribe via email, or follow me on Instagram and twitter at The Holsbys to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

4 Responses to “Portrait 365 : 167 – 173”

  1. Tess Freund June 21, 2014 at 12:54 pm #

    Very excited to see my necklace in your blog (worn by Kirsty)! My pieces are all unique one-of-a-kind baby friendly pieces made for mums. You can check out more via the Facebook & Etsy links at http://www.monkeyandmum.com.au. Tess xxx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 21, 2014 at 12:57 pm #

      I’m so pleased you popped by. I forgot to write down who made that fab necklace and promptly forgot!! It’s awesome!
      It’s the main reason I stopped to shoot Kirsty. And her blue eyes of course!!

      • Tess Freund June 21, 2014 at 1:05 pm #

        My pleasure – thank you! Great blog too. I’ll be sure to keep reading your posts x

  2. claireyhewitt01 June 21, 2014 at 10:02 pm #

    I’d love to ask Martin why he suggests the diary. I can think of reasons why, but I’d love to hear his reasons.

    I love this post. Looking forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

