Portrait 365 : 184 – 193

9 Jul

Bumper crop this week….. met some cool cats, heard some cool stories and had a birthday and a mama visit all in the middle.

David

David

“I used to be a professional boxer but I had to stop a year and a half ago because I’m just getting too old. And I’m busy running  my kids around and working so I’m just flat out.”

Emmanuel

Emmanuel

“Mechanics aren’t mechanics because they want to fix cars. Mechanics are mechanics because they want to build big engines and race cars at the track.”

D Man and Nana

D Man and Nana

“When I was 13 my Nana gave me a piece of advice. Love all, trust few, always paddle your own canoe.”

Mick

Mick

“I was in the army for 21 years but I got out because I was getting old. I have a bad back, bad knees, flat feet and I went deaf, otherwise I enjoyed it. I miss the big bops toys and the commeraderie.”

 

Emma

Emma

“When I was 8 years old my Dad died but I feel like he’s always beside me in the bad times, helping me to keep going. He taught me to be humble and to treat people with kindness.”
I’ve met Emma twice now and fallen in love hard with her cool range of jewellery designs, in fact, I wore her wish bone necklace for months on end. You may remember it from some of my pics. You can find her at Recreational Studio on FB and here.

Nana and munchkins

Nana and munchkins

 

Tonia

Tonia

“I went to Costa Rica as a volunteer tagging and tracking turtles. I went on this white water raft tour and I just loved the guide. I bought his kids some tee shirts from here to send over but I never sent them. I feel terrible about it, but at least I never told him so he’s not expecting it”

Danielle

Danielle

I didn’t shoot anyone on my birthday but Kirsten Cox came and shot my family. Super lucky to have someone so talented on my team!  I consider her my family.

 

Paul

Paul

“I’ve just been in the jungle in East Java, I was just hanging and surfing this incredible wave. It was a secluded home stay with a Muslim family during ramadan. They didn’t expect me to follow it too!”

Unknown

Unknown

We didn’t speak the same language, but we smiled at each other a lot. That was enough.

 

If you like what you’re seeing, why not like my Facebook page now?

You can also subscribe via email, or follow me on Instagram and twitter at The Holsbys to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

Leave a Reply

