Portrait 365 : 237 – 244

5 Sep

 

Heather

Heather

“I was happy to find out I was pregnant, but it was a surprise. When I started spotting I went to my obstetrician but because it was still early he really couldn’t tell what was happening. I went for a blood test thinking I was 8 or 9 weeks but my hormone levels were dropping and we thought I was miscarrying. The next couple of days I had terrible pain. I was told to go for another scan so I drove myself there but the sonographer could not believe I could even make it on my own. My pregnancy was ectopic and my fallopian tube had burst and I was rushed straight to hospital and operated on immediately.”

I searched Heather out, asking for someone to point her out to me after she mentioned how much she was enjoying Portrait 365. I knew she had to be one of my portraits. Then she proceeded to remove my carefully laid psychological band-aid until she could see my very heart. We connected. She shoots and talks and blogs too.

Clint

Clint

“I fell in love with a Finnish exchange student and then she went back to Finland. I wrote her a little book with pictures in it and made a mixed tape and on the end of the tape I said something really soft and cried a little and I’m worried one day it will come out.”

This guy was an endless course of amusement. It doesn’t get much drier than his humor. If you want some, you can find him here.

 

Morgan

Morgan

“I’m proud that I pushed myself to come here. I’ve been blogging for a couple of years but not pushing myself. I’m ready for a change of direction in my life and this is a great step towards that.”

I lost Morgans card. If anyone recognises her ping me so I can link her blog, please.

Ruth

Ruth

“I just came back from 2 months traveling in The States and it’s a bit of an adjustment. The reality of not being able to party and go to the beach every day. I’m planning on heading back there soon for my modelling.”

I practically tackled Ruth in my effort to shoot her before she got away.

Matt

Matt

“The last time I cried was when I lost my father-in-law. He was a passionate person and he loved the outdoors. I want my daughter Daisy to know that he was a super positive person.”

Eden

Eden

“Before my brother Cam died he was a big fan of Henry Rollins. Henry Rollins once said “All of the people on the planet are your peers. What are you doing for your peers?”. I really love that.”

If you’ve never come across Eden before you wouldn’t know that she has a rare heart condition. Her heart is the size of the moon and it feels all the feels one million times more than your average bear. This is both a great gift, and a very heavy burden. She writes the best. Hands down. Check her out.

Candice

Candice

“My first proper kiss was with a boy called Elmore in a shelter on a cricket pitch and I really wanted to kiss him because he smelled like bourbon and cigarettes. Now every time I smell cigarettes and bourbon I get weak knees.”

Candice is an aficionado in all things vintage. You can find her here.

 

 Who is your favourite this week?

 

 

 

If you like what you’re seeing, why not like my Facebook page now?

You can also subscribe via email, or follow me on Instagram and twitter at The Holsbys to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

 

10 Responses to “Portrait 365 : 237 – 244”

  1. Silvia Oohlala September 5, 2014 at 12:03 pm #

    Lovely portraits, both visual and verbal

  2. Cooker and a Looker September 5, 2014 at 12:37 pm #

    I saw you chatting to Heather. I didn’t realise you were doing a portrait. Very cool!

  3. Nicole - Seeking Victory September 5, 2014 at 9:06 pm #

    I love this project, I just love it so much! Real connections with REAL PEOPLE and a beautiful opportunity to develop your exquisite photography skills and tell a story. Just awesome.

  4. claireyhewitt01 September 5, 2014 at 9:17 pm #

    I saw Heather during this time and she was amazing. Brace, rational, sad, yet positive all at the same time. She’s a pretty good egg. xx

  5. Sonia Life Love Hiccups September 5, 2014 at 11:29 pm #

    Heather s such a beautiful beautiful soul isn’t she – you captured her perfectly xx

  6. Sonia from Sonia Styling September 10, 2014 at 3:17 pm #

    Wow, lady – you are an amazing photog! Love how you’ve captured every person’s unique spirit. Ruth definitely caught my eye at QT. What a knockout!

Leave a Reply

