Homemade Beauty Treatment, aka Tightarse Exfoliator

21 Sep

I’m hardly known as a beauty blogger for two very good reasons.

Firstly, it is a well known fact that most days I barely brush my hair and secondly, refer to point one but replace the word ‘hair’ with ‘teeth’.

Winter wreaks havoc on my sensitive skin. I used to have hardy skin, and I was never spotty in high school, but as I got older products stung my face and post-sproglets my skin has turned into part pizza, part handbag.

This Winter has been especially bad. My chin is spotty, my cheeks are peeling and my skin looks positively exhausted, and old.

And wrinkly.
a little bit like this (photo credit : Brian Roberts)

a little bit like this (photo credit : Brian Roberts)

I tried straight coconut oil for a time, but that made everything worse. Now I’m using rose hip oil to moisturise but it wasn’t getting through the thick layer on linoleum on my face.

I ran out of my usual exfoliant a couple of weeks ago and I haven’t gotten around to buying another. My scrub of choice is usually Aesop or Grown brands but they are a little on the exxy side…. like $50+.

homemade beauty treatmentMy skin was positively screaming to be sloughed yesterday and I thought I’d whip up a little something to have a crack at removing a layer of dead skin cells and may I just say –  I don’t know if I’ll be going back to store bought.

This shit is the bomb.

I’ve had some organic oat bran in the cupboard for ages but aside from chucking a spoon in my baking here and there and haven’t really known what to do with it.

Now I do.

What you will need :

1:1:1 oat bran, natural Greek yoghurt, olive oil

homemade beauty treatmentWhat you will need to do :

Mix your ingredients and gently rub all over your face leaving it as soft as a baby’s butt.

homemade beauty treatmentIf you want to do just your face, a teaspoon of each is enough, but if you’re going the whole body shebangalang make more and scrub that beast down.

homemade beauty treatment

doubles as breakfast if your tongue is long enough.

I made the error of making more than I needed when I was just doing my face and I thought I’d save it for another shower later.

I gave it a shot but by the time I got around to it I was simply smearing Bircher muesli on my skin. It still worked a bit, and I was delightfully smooth and moist but it felt a tad on the kinkier side of beautifying.

So, there you have it gang. A new feather in my bow. Beauteous blogging.

I’ma gonna give those fashion/beauty bloggers Sonia Styling and Kimba Likes a massive run for their money. Bet they’re shitting themselves.

homemade beauty treatment

Not sure what that look on my face is about. I look like a muppet.

 

If you like what you’re seeing, why not like my Facebook page now?

You can also subscribe via email, or follow me onInstagram and Twitter at The Holsbys to be sure to always Keep up with the Holsbys.

 

Leave a Reply

